Will-to-Win Dedication Ceremony Photos from May 16, 2018

Honoring 34 years of Will-to-Win Classic golf tournament donor support for spinal cord injury research at the Spinal Cord Research Centre

In grateful recognition of the many donors whose generous contributions to the Will to Win Classic in aid of spinal cord research and the Spinal Cord Research Centre in the Rady Faculty of Health Sciences (University of Manitoba) total over 2 million dollars. W2W Premier, Diamond, Gold & Silver Sponsors Since 1984: $500,000+ The Paul Albrechtsen Foundation. $200,000+ Cliff Penner. $100,000+ Laddie Hutchison, The McNaught Family, Manitoba Blue Cross. $50,000+ The Saladin Family, Elmer Hildebrand, The Hetherington Family, Bob May, The Pollard Family, Gerry Hodson, Manitoba Hydro, Irv Applebaum.The Participants in the annual Will-to-Win Classic Golf Tournament have generated financial support for research at the Spinal Cord Research Centre at the University of Manitoba since 1984. This continuous support has been instrumental in the development of the Spinal Cord Research Centre as an internationally-recognized centre for the study of spinal cord function, plasticity, and response to injury, and for the development of trainees who continue to research in this important area, both within Manitoba and further afield. The SCRC dedicated a plaque to the major donors and their continued support at a Dedication Ceremony on May 16, 2018 held in the John Buhler Research Centre Atrium at the University of Manitoba.



small1c1651.jpg (71 KB)
Welcome from Dr. Phillip Gardiner, Director, SCRC
small1b1661.jpg (87 KB)


Words of Thanks

small1d1669.jpg (62 KB)
Dr. Jay Doering, Associate Vice-President (Partnerships),
Office of the Vice-President (Research and International)
small1e1677.jpg (73 KB)
Dr. Kevin Coombs, Assistant Dean (Research),
Rady Faculty of Health Sciences, Max Rady College of Medicine
small1f1682.jpg (76 KB)
Dr. Peter Cattini, Head and Professor, Department of Physiology & Pathophysiology


The Impact of Giving

small1g1700.jpg (66 KB)
Dr. Larry Jordan, SCRC Director 1987-2003
small1h1706.jpg (70 KB)
Dr. Dave McCrea, SCRC Director 2003-2016
small1i1718.jpg (91 KB)
Dr. Kristine Cowley, Recipient of Will-to-Win Professorship 2012-2014 & Scholarship 2002-2008
small1j1720.jpg (76 KB)
small1k1724.jpg (70 KB)
Dr. Brent Fedirchuk, Recipient of Will-to-Win Scholarship 1996-1998
small1l1732.jpg (70 KB)
Dr. Brian Schmidt, Recipient of Will-to-Win Scholarship 2000-2001
small1mJ0A1740.jpg (68 KB)
Nagkannan Pandian, Recipent of Research Manitoba /
Will-to-Win Graduate Studentship 2016


Words from Will-to-Win

small1n1746.jpg (69 KB)
Dr. Jan Brown, Will-to-Win Chairman 1999-2014
small1o1753.jpg (89 KB)


Reception and Toast

small1p1759.jpg (87 KB)
small1q1755.jpg (89 KB)
small1r1768.jpg (98 KB)
small1J0A1590.jpg (57 KB)
small1J0A1591.jpg (47 KB)
small1J0A1593.jpg (69 KB)
small1J0A1596.jpg (91 KB)
small1J0A1594.jpg (63 KB)
small1J0A1598.jpg (62 KB)
small1J0A1600.jpg (56 KB)
small1J0A1603.jpg (78 KB)
small1J0A1607.jpg (73 KB)
small1J0A1609.jpg (52 KB)
small1J0A1618.jpg (61 KB)
small1J0A1619.jpg (70 KB)
small1J0A1620.jpg (85 KB)
small1J0A1621.jpg (66 KB)
small1J0A1623.jpg (83 KB)
small1J0A1625.jpg (67 KB)
small1J0A1626.jpg (77 KB)
small1J0A1629.jpg (43 KB)
small1J0A1630.jpg (73 KB)
small1J0A1639.jpg (58 KB)
small1J0A1641.jpg (64 KB)
small1J0A1643.jpg (61 KB)
small1J0A1644.jpg (65 KB)
small1J0A1645.jpg (71 KB)
small1J0A1689.jpg (96 KB)
small1J0A1690.jpg (100 KB)
small1J0A1774.jpg (78 KB)
small1J0A1777.jpg (57 KB)
SCRC Directors (L-R): Dr. Larry Jordan 1987-2003,
Dr. Dave McCrea 2003-2016, Dr. Phillip Gardiner 2016-present
small1J0A1779.jpg (72 KB)
small1J0A1783.jpg (66 KB)
small1J0A1785.jpg (71 KB)
small1J0A1790.jpg (67 KB)
small1J0A1797.jpg (38 KB)
small1J0A1794.jpg (59 KB)
small1J0A1800.jpg (71 KB)
SCRC Principal Investigators (L-R): Dr. Katinka Stecina,
Dr. Eftekhar Eftekharpour, Dr. Kristine Cowley (front),
Dr. Soheila Karimi, Dr. Larry Jordan, Dr. Phillip Gardiner,
Dr. James Nagy (front), Dr. Dave McCrea, Dr. Brian Schmidt,
Dr. Brent Fedirchuk


For more information:

Will-to-Win Classic History

Will-to-Win Award Recipients

Will-to-Win Spinal Cord Symposium – May 2013

Will-to-Win Symposium – April 2004