Training Opportunities
Training Opportunities

Students are the lifeblood of research at our centre.
See what graduate studies in spinal cord research can offer.


The SCRC is funded by a number of granting agencies
such as CIHR, MHRC, NSERC, MPF and Will-to-Win.
See why these organizations value our research.

Research Objectives
Research Objectives

The SCRC's integrated research and training strategy comprises three overlapping thrusts: (1) Mechanistic Research, (2) Translational Research and (3) Neuroprotection, Repair, Regeneration & Cell Based Therapies.

Seminar Series
Seminar Series

The SCRC hosts or participates in several seminar series,
as well as two neuroscience-related journal clubs.
These all provide great training opportunities.

previous arrow
next arrow

Welcome to the Spinal Cord Research Centre

We are located in the Department of Physiology and Pathophysiology at the University of Manitoba

Bannatyne campus, next to the Health Sciences Centre in downtown Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada.

Dr. Kristine Cowley awarded Tier 2 Canada Research Chair (CRC)

The SCRC would like to congratulate Dr. Cowley on receiving one of eleven new Canada Research Chairs (CRCs) in 2020. Read the full story.

Canada's Top 100 Most Powerful Women in 2020

Congratulations goes out to Dr. Soheila Karimi who was identified as one of Canada's Top 100 Most Powerful Women in 2020.

UM News article

The Spinal Cord Research Centre looks forward to working with Dr. Cowley in her new role as Director!

read more


Position: Research Assistant

Application Deadline: August 21, 2021

Complete details here.

Position: Post-Doctoral Positions in Spinal Cord Neurophysiology

Application Deadline: August 30, 2021

Complete details here.

Funding Opportunity:

2021 Nick Shepel Neuroscience Trainee Travel Award

Application deadline: Friday, August 20, 2021

Established by the Division of Neurodegenerative Disorders, St. Boniface Hospital Research Centre

Complete details here.


Congratulations Funding Recipients

Drs. Jeremy Chopek and Kristine Cowley awarded the 2021 Craig H Neilsen Foundation award.

Dr. Jeremy Chopek awarded the 2020-2022 Research Manitoba New Investigator Operating Grant!

Dr. Soheila Karimi awarded Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada grant 2020-2023!

Drs. Jeremy Chopek and Jim Nagy are the recipients of a 2020 Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) Discovery Grant


The SCRC would like to congratulate the following successful award recipients!

Amir Ziaee, MSc student
– UMGF Award 2021-2022

Astrid Bravo Jimenez, MSc Student
– MITACS Graduate Fellowship Award 2021-2022

Katrina Armstrong, PhD Student
– Society for Neuroscience Trainee Professional Development Award 2020

Mojtaba Hosseini, PhD student
– IBRO Award, Canadian Association for Neuroscience (2021)
– Trainee & Diversity Award, National Neurotrauma Society, USA (2021)
– Hilary Kaufman Lerner Memorial Fund in Multiple Sclerosis 2021
– Will-to-Win/Manitoba Paraplegia Foundation Studentship 2020-2022

Narjes Shahsavani, PhD Student
– Trainee & Diversity Award, National Neurotrauma Society, USA (2021)
– IBRO Award, Canadian Association for Neuroscience (2021)
– Will-to-Win/Manitoba Paraplegia Foundation Studentship 2020-2022

Shakila Sultana, MSc student
– University of Manitoba Graduate Fellowship 2020
– Research Manitoba/Rady Faculty of Health Sciences Graduate Entrance Scholarship 2020

Md Imamul Islam, Research Associate
– Dean of Medicine Award 2020